travel

… and the living is easy or “uzmite keksiće, sve će se srediti”!

It’s been a while since I’ve spent some time at the seaside. It’s been a while since I’ve spent my summer staying in Ljubljana, not attending any summer schools or travelling around to be honest. So after my most-of-the-time- freezing Irish adventure and before my oh-fingers-crossed-this-happens adventure in Autumn I’ve decided to stay in the capital surrounded by concrete and basically boil myself. But, hey, it’s really not all that bad! This year my mom had enough and demanded some seaside time as she is basically half a mermaid, I swear (pretty much the opposite of the rest of us… ), but there we were, all packing their own thing. As it goes for me I still didn’t give up on the last minute packing, old habits die hard. So I threw bunch of books, few short and T-shirts, crayons, laptop and bunch of other random things in my bag, put my summer hat on and turned on the ultimate summer mood on!

Carpooling with two other other ladies ended up being quite fun. They were going for a concert in Opatija that evening (“Pa eo, gremo na Čolića!”) and that was exactly where we were heading – Opatija, not the concert, ha. First things first, a city map and one nice local later we figured out where our flat was – way up on the hills, of course. GPS was protesting and kept saying that the address does not exist, which did freak me out a bit, but just a bit, mini bit. Even though sleeping on the beach for a week doesn’t sounds like a bad idea either. Hills and small streets and more hills and me not being a great fan of hills didn’t really help. And finally, there it was, a cute pink candy house, like something out of Katy Perry’s videos. Meeting the owners was followed by drinking Turkish/Mediterranean/Middle Eastern/Balkan/Call It Whatever You Want coffee and eating cookies with a beautiful view of the seaside (“Ajmo na kafu. Uzmite keksiće, sve će se srediti.”) – not a bad start, not bad at all and I totally took “sve će se srediti” (“everything will turn out fine.”) and applied it to life in general. Everything will be fine, indeed.

1A quick stop on the way to the top, hello Croatian beer.
45Neighborhood jungle.
3  View from my room, not too shabby.

A bit of exploring this little town, nice “Istranian” dinner and holding up glasses for a great start of the vacations! Let’s not mention that we also heard the whole Čolić concert from our beds. Still not a fan. Anyhow, here are few shots to show this cute little Croatian town.

19Getting lost is part of the journey.76“Tetkice.”814“Some birds are not meant to be caged, that’s all. Their feathers are too bright, their songs too sweet and wild. So you let them go, or when you open the cage to feed them they somehow fly out past you.” – Stephen King
18“Čičon”1022Even though it’s weird having this seaside routine I gotta say I’m really starting to enjoy it or better say not hating it. And I have to say this was really hard to admit as I was always the one protesting against spending longer periods of time at the seaside. I always get this image of a beach full of sea lions moving and turning an inch every once in a while and basically doing nothing all day. Well, I still kinda think that, but I’m adding fun things to it. You know what they say, if you’re bored then you’re boring. 🙂
Happy sweet & salty summer greetings to all of ya!
Over & Out

Leave a Reply

